We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

MSE News: OFT calls for dentist industry shake-up

Options

Comments

• welshdent
    welshdent Posts: 1,991 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    dolly I take significant offense at your opening paragraph. I find it ill informed and rather judgemental. I work as an NHS practitioner and it is TOUGH believe you me. I work in 2 practices. I drive a mini, another drives a 7 year old golf someone else drives a newer more basic golf. There are similar stories. It is franly irrelevant what people drive. My cousin is a teacher and drives a brand new audi tt. What does that say about them? They still live with their parents and choose to spend their money how they wish as do I. Now I appreciate you may well have had problems and believe me I am very critical of what I percieve to be poor unethical dentists. But you have no idea how our contract works and you have no idea the pressures we face that you can not see. This fallacy we are all swanning around in porsches leaving patients with ruined mouths is an utter nonsense. I pride myself on proving as high a standard of care I can within the confines of a horribly underfunded system. No I do not mean my pay! I mean how much it actually costs us to give you treatment! That cost is borne entirely by us as is buying the equipment and materials, paying staff and keeping up to date with the ever changing technique and materials.
    Sorry for my rant but it REALLY winds me up when I see comments like that.
  • brook2jack
    brook2jack Posts: 4,563 Forumite
    Options
    sheri3466 wrote: »