We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

MSE News: OFT calls for dentist industry shake-up

Options

Comments

• 1jim
    1jim Posts: 2,663 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    This probably isn't a massive deal but it does make me wonder about nhs dentistry.........
    I have been using the same practice for 10 years, my dentist is nhs, others in the practice are private. Whenever I have had check up I have usually had a scale and polish due to plaque buildup. The practice recently started having a hygienist one day a week, my last check up went as normal, then... You will need a clean and polish, the hygienist is really great at this, she is new to the practice.....but the price will be £50 if you see reception they will book you in for it and then ushered out of the door. Couldn't book an appointment because she only goes to the practice one day a week and I am always working that day, I recontact the practice and ask if this couldn't be done by dentist under nhs....and oh yes it can... Pop in now and he will do it

Just sitting in the waiting room and seeing literally every patient coming out booking a hygienist appointment seems very bizarre..... Like I said, this practice has never had access to one in the 10 years I have been there but now everyone must have a hygienist review, maybe there is a good reason, maybe not
  • Pennylane
    Pennylane Posts: 2,707 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Toothsmith wrote: »
    Well I've managed to vote 'No' 5 times in the last 2 mins! So hardly a good poll!

OMG You are SO clever!:shocked:
  • Pennylane
    Pennylane Posts: 2,707 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker