Hard Drive Data Recovery - Datatrack Labs

Options

Comments

• trust99
    trust99 Posts: 9 Forumite
    edited 15 May 2012 at 1:50PM
    Options
    Who did they go with in the end? any idea of costs?
    Who did they go with in the end? any idea of costs?

No one as yet.
    I am a self employed IT consultant and while I was asked by my friend if it was something we did I originally said 'No' as I thought better leave it to the experts. After some pleading from my friend (after so many attempts to rip her off) and some offered assistance from our chief techie we are going to have a look using software tools (it would seem that the majority of these companies that charge 000's of pounds only do the same) If we can't recover the data (e.g. drive is too far gone or been damaged by one of several companies who have had it for quote purposes) then we will help her find a professional company that has the relevent lab and equipment.

Timeline
    1.My friend and client having first paid £70 to a local company who couldn't extract anything but charged her anyway

2. Friend sends HDD to supposed London based firm Rapid data recovery for HDD recovery - web advertised price of £150-£200. Turns out HDD gone to one of Fields Data scam companies in Wales (Google Fields Data and Rapid data recovery, 000's of complaints) No surprise quoted price is now more than double with no guarantee of any data.
    Request HDD returned

3. Sends HDD to Data track labs, quoted price is similar to advertised but subject to large surcharge if work to be completed in less than standard time (standard time 14-21 days) First attempt to have HDD collected by our own courier rebuffed and the courier sent packing, DTLabs say that the HDD has now been sent in standard Royal Mail as I type.

I will update this thread when we have received the HDD and
    had a chance at software recovery.

**Update HDD received today so DTL true to their word.
  • Steve_Andrea
    Steve_Andrea Posts: 85 Forumite