I work extra hours but don't accrue holidays

Options
Hi,

Hope someone can help. I work in the healthcare industry. My contract is for 36 hours a week, made up of three, twelve hour night shifts. However my company is very short staffed, has a high staff turnover and has to cover sickness and annual leave. Therefore I regularly work extra shifts.

These shifts are classed as and called 'extras' becuase they are not paid at an overtime rate just the same flat rate as my contracutal hours.

The thing is my company also has bank staff who accrue annual leave the more shifts they do. However, this is not the case for permament staff. We don't get an overtime rate, or accrue holiday.

In a way it wouldn't be to the advantage of my company if the permanent staff accrued holiday ( for the extra shifts) only to have to take it on top of their normal holiday entitlement as the company would be in the position to have to cover these shifts as well. However that shouldn't mean we are not entitled to it, personally I would rather have the money than the holidays.

A colleague of mine approached our manager about us not accruing holiday for all these 'extras' (extra shifts) we are doing and he said it is not company policy.

However our company is part of a larger company ( a holdings company that has our head office inc payroll, HR etc) and my colleague knows for a fact that a friend of hers who works for another regional company that has the same holding company (therefore same payroll and HR etc) do accrue holidays.

Does anyone know how I can get my accrued holidays and or pay for all the extra shifts I have worked for the last two years and this current year, if this is even possible?
Debt-Free day 30th September 2014

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,030 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 12 April 2012 at 8:11PM
    Options
    You're unlikely to get it backdated - if you do, it will be with the help of the union (see below).