Taking Payments Query

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Small Biz & Charities' MoneySaving
11 replies 705 views
Stu_DentStu_Dent Forumite
234 Posts
Hi everyone,

I'm looking into a new business venture and was looking for a bit of advice from those who know!

as part of the business i want people to register their personal details on my website and credit card details too.. Customers would then call me, tell me they want (eg) 8 of Product X, I would then pull up their information and charge them using (for example) Paypals virtual terminal tool..

Now i was wondering, is it legal to hold peoples credit card details like this? are there any other options?

Im very new to this and its in very early stages at the moment so please treat me kindly! :)

thank you

Stu :)

Replies

• Stu_Dent wrote:
    Hi everyone,

I'm looking into a new business venture and was looking for a bit of advice from those who know!

as part of the business i want people to register their personal details on my website and credit card details too.. Customers would then call me, tell me they want (eg) 8 of Product X, I would then pull up their information and charge them using (for example) Paypals virtual terminal tool..

Now i was wondering, is it legal to hold peoples credit card details like this? are there any other options?

Im very new to this and its in very early stages at the moment so please treat me kindly! :)

thank you

I think you'll run into all sorts of problems to be honest. The first is I have doubts people will leave credit card details without it being secure. To get it secure is going to be another issue. I also think you'll need people to give agreement for you to hold their card details as I would think it falls under the data protection act.
  • hmmm, the problem i have is that i havent got the most website creation experience to be perfectly honest..