We’d like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum.
This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are – or become – political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.
📨 Have you signed up to the Forum's new Email Digest yet? Get a selection of trending threads sent straight to your inbox daily, weekly or monthly!
paypal has backed a scammer
Comments
-
They aren't scammers... You got what you paid for. It can't be a fake as it's just a style of bracelet. River Island sell them for about £10, as do many other high street shops.0
-
OK, I have a new opinion on this one now. But OP seems to be confused as to what is fake and what is real. In My Opinion "Shamballa Jewels" and the shamballa Jewels cross

are registered trademarks of Shamballa Jewells Copenhagen
They are an elitist jewellry company selling through shops like Harrods and Frosts of London (I never heard of Frosts before I guess I don't move in the right social circles) selling for -as we have seen- thousands of pounds. The idea that such a company would have bargain bracelets for £79 currently 50% off at £39 is nonsense. If you look at all "Shamballa Jewells" bracelets they all have the trademark cross on them.
Shamballa Bracelets UK http://www.shamballabraceletsuk.net has the Shamballa Jewels logo on their website but not on any of their product. They have a picture of a genuine Shamballa Jewels bracelet on their home page but then on their product pages they are clearly of much lower quality and without the SJ logo and that's why they only cost £39.
The use of the SJ logo & picture on the SB website is clearly an infringement of copyright and is misleading (trading standards & FACT etc).
However the OP said she expected to buy for £65 a "Shamballa Bracelets bracelet" which is what she got, I doubt it has the "Shamballa Jewels" cross on it but if it does then it is definately "a fake". What Shamballa Bracelets uk sell on their websites are not fakes, they are genuine "Shamballa Bracelets UK" bracelets. If the OP bought from Ebay and the Ebay listing used the "Shamballa Jewels" logo then there must be provisions within Ebay & Paypal T&Cs to cover misleading listings and so enable the OP to get a refund, however, I have no idea if Ebay will be able to pull up the original listing page from it's records as part of their investigation.
The OP could not have expected to buy a "Shamballa Jewels" bracelet for £65 given that they retail for £2,000 - £81,000
The questions that remain are:
Does it have the Shamballa Jewels logo on it?
Did she buy from Ebay or from Shamballa Bracelets website?
Did they use the Shamballa Jewels trademark and images on their Ebay listing?
If they did use the SJ logo infringing copyright and misleading the buyer will Paypal or Ebay do anything about it if she resends her complaint to highlight this?0 -
just thought i would clear a few things up, the bracelet i bought from the site (which has now been taken off-line) was advertised as a "tresor crystal bead shamballa bracelet"
i have taken it to a jewelers that sells the real ones and they have confirmed that it does not originate from "tresor paris" which is trade marked
paypal have said that they will look into the case again if i can give evidence from a jeweler, what gets me is they do not want to see the item, i have since bought a real one so i could photo them side by side to show how cheap and shoddy the fake one is but they have said they will not accept a photo of the items0 -
oh and im MALE......0
-
Just_Like_Honey wrote: »They aren't scammers... You got what you paid for. It can't be a fake as it's just a style of bracelet. River Island sell them for about £10, as do many other high street shops.
would a real shop/site not have a working email or phone, also would they shut the site after a fewe weeks, i think not0 -
Same question applies, does it have the "tresor Paris" logo on it.....?
If not, it is not a fake and the statement from the jeweler will only confirm that it is not a fake and it is not a Tresor Paris item.
However it was sold under false description.
Google archive has this, you might want to keep it as evidence
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?hl=en&gbv=2&gs_sm=12&gs_upl=1810l1810l0l2580l1l1l0l0l0l0l60l60l1l1l0&q=cache:Sqe2rDqf1JwJ:http://www.shamballabraceletsuk.co.uk/catalog/product/c8f9c5c27f34499d9555d00bdf89ea3b+shamballabraceletsuk.co.uk&ct=clnk
I suppose you could sue paypal in the small claims court but now they are based in Luxembourg(?) I guess that won't be easy.0 -
cheers for the link,
there is no logo on it and the "Hematite beads" are plastic there are bits of "Crystal" all in the box where they have fallen off when posted.0 -
Not having the original webpage is a big problem in persuading anyone that you were duped. Even the wording on the google cache is not clear cut
"Be the first to impress your friends with a sparkle from Shamballa Bracelets UK with this Tresor Shamballa Inspired Bracelet from the stunning Tresor Paris collection will give you the million pound look you deserve. Magnificently hand finished, sparkling spheres."
It could be said to be saying "this is not a Tresor Paris bracelet but a similar one that has been inspired by the tresor Paris collection." i.e they really did nothing illegal. But if the webpage was plastered (as I expect it was) with official Tresor Paris pictures and logos then that can help build a case for you, if you have the evidence that the website did look like that.
To be honest I don't think you have much of a chance here.0
This discussion has been closed.
Confirm your email address to Create Threads and Reply
Categories
- All Categories
- 354.8K Banking & Borrowing
- 254.5K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
- 455.6K Spending & Discounts
- 247.6K Work, Benefits & Business
- 604.6K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
- 178.6K Life & Family
- 262.2K Travel & Transport
- 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
- 16.1K Discuss & Feedback
- 37.7K Read-Only Boards