We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Hubby leaving, What should i pay for???

Options
Hello everybody, i'm a newbie here, so be gentle!;)

first off, i have read so many of your posts in this corner of the forum, i feel like i know some of you already, and can't wait for your honest opinions!

the background: i am 33, married with DD 11, and DS 10. hubby has told me last week he wants to leave and doesnt love me anymore. we've been having problems for months, and some old history, (which i'd like to stay that way). i work 16+ hours a week, when my employer allows overtime, my hubby is a SAHD.
when i work, he does the hoovering/dishes/kitchen/bins, and i do all the rest, when i'm off for holiday or lack of hours at work, he pretty much downs tools, and has a nice relaxing time off. he gets up with the kids if he has to, otherwise has plenty of lie-ins.

so, we have started the process of separating. i have been sorting out all the bills, changing payments to my name, my bank account details, making sure that everything is ready to come out of my account to pay for the house (rented off private landlord)
today has been v. productive, thanks to MSE i saved £20 a year with my new phone/broadband contract ;-)

now we come to the title of the thread...
we had a small anount of cash savings, of which i have taken 60% and banked, and left him the rest in cash(enough for a months rent on a flat...).

i am giving him the lounge furniture, we are taking a car each, and he has a motorbike.
i am buying new lounge furniture for me and kids,and a smaller tv, he is having the 42" one, and the hi-fi system.
i havent asked for any money, apart from dividing the savings, fairly i think, considering i have 2 kiddies to feed.