'Consultation over the Gambling Introductory Offer Loopholes board' blog discussion

Comments

• bioboybill
    bioboybill Posts: 3,401
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    I find this a really difficult question to deal with. On one hand I personally have made a very large sum of money at this since discovering the site in October 2007. For that alone this board will always be special to me. I have also encouraged friends and relatives to look at the board and discover the free money to be made if you're careful and follow the guides.

On the other hand I do think things are getting harder and this board is now beginning to contribute to that. The problem we have is the many thousands of lurkers who contribute nothing yet jump on every offer immediately to the point where many are killed off before you can try them.

This has led to the point where much trickier offers with less well known bookies are being posted and complete beginners are jumping in on those without considering the risks. I have lost count of the number of posts where a newbie has said something like, " I put £200 into bookie X and placed a bet at odds of 3 assuming it would lose and it has won. I now have £600 at the bookie and no money at Betfair. The bookie won't let me withdraw my money and says I have to wager another £1000. Why can't I get my money?"

The guides and spreadsheets on here are an absolute godsend, but unfortunately too many people don't seem to even read them before jumping in.

I'm not sure what can be done, but I do think something has to change. People need to be far more aware that this isn't all risk-free. Bookies do go bust, refuse to pay out and/or scam you. Too many of the offers posted these days are far from risk-free. It's a very difficult one to police I know. If it's not possible then sadly maybe it is time to call it a day?