Rights to cancel

Hi, newbie here.

We have tried to cancel a holiday with Virgin Holidays, but have been told the following

'When booking on line you accept the terms and conditions, therefore no cooling off period is offered'

We booked on line so thought we could use the distance selling act. The holiday is not untill October, and we canselled within 7 days.

Are they correct, or are we being fobbed off?

All help is much appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• richardw
    richardw Posts: 19,458 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    No, they are correct. The distance selling act doesn't include travel.
    Posts are not advice and must not be relied upon.
  • Ok thanks for the help, they have offered a voucher, which we will accept.
  • delwynshd
    delwynshd Posts: 2,907 Forumite
    Hello

I work for the operator and as Richardw says the distance selling act doesnt include travel

What were your reason of cancelling

They will allow you to put the deposit down on a future holiday

Thanks
    Del
    I am a Travel Agent

My company’s ABTA numbers are P6046. MSE doesn't check my status as a Travel Agent, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Travel Agent Code of Conduct.
  • We found out that we were not going to be flying with them and the airline they were using had very bad reviews.

Also, when we phoned they up to ask about an upgrade from standard room to the villas, they were very unhelpful. They said that we would have to call back at a later date and they didnt have the information to hand. We asked if they could call us back when they had the information, but they stated that they do not do call backs!

Not the service we expected from Virgin.

So we canceled the booking.

As this is an expensive holiday and a its a long to Sri Lanka, we wanted good flights. Not to much to ask from a company who built its reputation on great service and a 1st class airline :(
  • Moonchild
    Moonchild Posts: 802 Forumite