wondered if anyone can help please

Options
hi i was just wondering if someone can help me my son gets middle rate dla care and i have been advised to claim carers etc i have been to a few sites like caf and entitled to to see if it would be worth claiming and i keep getting very different answers so i really dont no whether to claim or not. I was wondering does anyone know any other sites i could try or anyone i could ring to help me with benefit checker. Or if someone is very good with working out benefits etc i could pm details to you. i am not very good with maths!!! thanks in advance :j

Comments

• nannytone_2
    nannytone_2 Posts: 12,951 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    a lot depends on what other benefits you receive.

if you are on means tested benefit, then it works out about an extra £31 a week.

if not on means tested benefit it is £55, but you are not allowed to be earning more than £100 a week and claim.

there is also an addition element of ctc because of having a disabled child.
  • kingfisherblue
    Options
    I have a son who receives high rate care and high rate mobility.

First you need to see if you are eligible for CA. Your son gets middle rate care - do you earn £100 or less each week? Are you a full time student? Do you give at least 35 hours a week care? (I'm assuming you are not a pensioner :)).

If you are a full time student you cannot claim. If you come within the earnings limit and give at least 35 hours a week care, you probably can.

You mention benefits - from this I assume that you already claim some benefits. It would help posters if you say what you currently claim.

For example, if you get Income Support, you will get a Carer's premium added to the IS, then that amount will be reduced by £55.55 (the weekly amount paid for CA). You end up around £29 a week better off.