Optimum flue temp for my mutifuel stove.

Options
This up coming winter is my first one with my Aarrow Ecoburn 9. What is the best flue temperature for optimum efficiency as I am quite new to the stove scene. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• jawjawsdad
    Options
    sorry "multifuel" stove
  • alleycat`
    alleycat` Posts: 1,901 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    The stove pipe thermometer (only one i've seen installed was stovax) says optimum is between about 260 and 460.

For about £15 quid i'd get one of those (or equivalent).

e.g:-

http://www.thedoorknockercompany.co.uk/acatalog/zthermometer2.JPG
  • mark_j
    mark_j Posts: 52 Forumite
    Options
    I too have a Aarrrow Ecoburn 9, i have a Stovax flue thermometer, same price as above, i bought mine from amazon, and it came within 2 days

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stovax-Stove-Thermometer-Temperature-Gauge/dp/B00465NFQQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1314731517&sr=8-1
  • hugh3s
    hugh3s Posts: 13 Forumite
    Options
    One or two things to remember, make sure you know which thermometer you have, some are meant to go on the flue pipe and some on the stove itself. I have one for the flue pipe and I think it should be positioned 2-3 feet above the stove.

I find I have to run my stove at around 400F+ for a considerable time to get the room to a warm temperature.
  • jawjawsdad
    Options
    Thanks guys for the replies. Fancy one of these Stovax thermometers, how is it attached to the stove pipe.
  • alleycat`
    alleycat` Posts: 1,901 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Fairly certain they are magnetic.
  • hethmar
    hethmar Posts: 10,678 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker Car Insurance Carver!
    Options
    You should have your stove's instruction book - read it!