Default on old bank account! Some questions...

Options
Hi there,

Out of interest I decided to check my credit file tonight using a website that searches all the big credit agencies.

Everything looked in order as I hadn't ever made any late payments or had any defaults to my knowledge.

However, there is one problem that showed up on an old bank account. I'm not sure why this didn't appear previously-I thought it might be because it's on an old address I might not have entered when I previously used this credit agency site around a year ago.

I was in my arranged overdraft but the balance was stagnant. I was a student. As far as I remember, after receiving a letter asking me to pay something in I made an arrangement with the bank to pay about £50 a month. This went on for several months but I do remember it wasn't paid for a few months. I was not aware it was a formal arrangement as such (i.e. recorded with credit agencies, but seems it was when looking at the file).

The culmination was in about April/May 2009. I had just applied for a mortgage for my first home, which was accepted fine. I had notified the bank in branch that my address had changed at least 6 months prior, yet for whatever reason they did not action it. I've actually had this problem before with a different bank.

I can't quite remember how I figured out there was a problem, however I called up the bank (Santander, formerly Abbey) to try and pay the balance off, which I did right away. They said they had sent several letters yet I advised them these had not been received and I had applied in branch for the address to be changed. I definitely asked if a default would be placed on the account and I was told no.

Basically, they did put a default on the account. The following month it is shown as 'satisfied'. It expires in May 2015.

A few questions: