PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Dairy free, soya free baking

Options
Hi everyone, I need to bake something to take tomorrow to a picnic, but I want to make it dairy free as there are a couple of people who can't tolerate dairy (one who can't tolerate soya either). I was thinking either cookies/biscuits or muffins.

I have an almost full tub of Flora White in my fridge (my MIL gave it to me) and I've read that's dairy free but not sure what I could make with it? I've never used it before. Any ideas?

I have a lot of baking supplies and I'm a fairly competent baker, so please feel free to suggest things. :beer:
Grocery budget in 2023 £2279.18/£2700

Grocery budget in 2022 £2304.76/£2400
Grocery budget in 2021 £2107.86/£2200
Grocery budget in 2020 £2193.02/£2160

Saving for Christmas 2023 #15 £ 90/ £365

Comments

• Flibsey
    Flibsey Posts: 579 Forumite
    edited 26 August 2011 at 8:11PM
    Options
    Cornbread, but using water instead of milk or replacement milks. We use either lactofree, oatley or rice milk depending on what we have.

225g fat; must be a solid fat so butter, marge, lard etc.
    225g plain flour
    225g polenta; I like fine cornmeal... less annoying crunch in the middle of your cornbread.
    1tbsp baking powder
    125g caster sugar
    2 large/3 small eggs
    475ml milk (don't attempt this with soya milk, it's disasterous; but oat works and doesn't taste wierd, rice milk is also good too)
    1tsp salt

preheat oven to 180 dec C.
    put fat in a largeish, medium deep tin and shove in the oven to melt as the oven is heating.