HFC want to settle by 'crediting my account'??

Options
Hi all

I've had a 'sorta' success with HFC over PPI claim on a credit card i've had for some years with them.

I wrote the letters about 6 months ago, i have been paying PPI on this credit card since 2007 and 'as a gesture of goodwill and providing there are no further claims or legal action they will refund £1809'

Great i thought! result!

but then the small print details that due to an 'outstanding balance' on my HFC account the good will payment will be credited against this outstanding balance'!!????

So, am i write in thinking that i've claimed back mis-sold PPI insurance from them and they now want to take the payment and pay it back to themselves on the outstanding debt from the credit card i was claiming against?!!
is this fair?? i don't think so, admitidly there is an outstanding balance on this card but i think it should be my decision whether or not i use this payment to clear it or not, considering they are settling a PPI claim AGAINST them?!

any opinions much appreciated?!

i feel a letter coming on........

Comments

• cbowls30
    Options
    UPDATE; i've been onto the FSO who tell them that HFC can do this if they wish, even though i've also had a letter from barclaycard telling me they are sending a cheque?!
    they only thing to do would be to put in a complaint to the FSO and see if it gets me anywhere?!

Has anybody else had this experience?
  • Common_Sense_2
    Options
    they 'owe' you money as part of the goodwill payment, you owe them the balance on your card, surely the sensible thing is for them to offset ech against the other.

Anyhoo - FSA guidelines allow this to happen.
    We've spent decades teaching people about their rights, but nothing about their responsibilities.
  • Common_Sense_2
    Options
    cbowls30 wrote: »