PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

I want a vegetable garden, where do I start

Options
Forgive this question from a complete novice!

I've fenced off a small patch I want to turn into a veg garden.

It's about 10 foot by 18 ft, but the top 6ft is a bit too messy at the moment.

It was part of a paddock, so I dug the grass and dock up as best I could and then put old carpet over the plot.
I've got loads of horse manure in a pile there, (fresh not rotted).
I also have 2 compost bins which I filled ages ago and haven't looked at since! So they might be full of good stuff by now

The soil is good as far as I can tell under the carpet, but it is very stony and impossible to dig below a few inches down

I wondered if I actually left the carpet down, (wool) and put loads of horse manure over the top and used the whole thing as a compost plot for a while if that would work and I would end up with good soil and how long it would take

Or should I pull the carpet out and dig the manure into it

I've also seen piles of tyres in vegetable gardens, are these for growing potatoes in and how does that work?

Comments

• moggins
    moggins Posts: 5,190 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I think you've made a good start, as far as I know horse manure shouldn't be dug in until it's well rotted so leaving it on the top would be a good plan.

Yes the tyres are used for growing potatoes, as the plant grows you just shove another tyre on and earth up, then you get more potatoes per plant.
    Organised people are just too lazy to look for things

F U Fund currently at £250
  • studentphil
    studentphil Posts: 37,640 Forumite
    Options
    Runner beans are fairly high yeld