Lending girlfriends money - good idea?

I have a girlfriend of 3 years in the final 6 months of her 4 year QTS degree. She will have the standard 15k student loan debt (no problem), 2 student bank overdrafts at 0% (no problem) and two credit cards ......

One at £500-700odd being charged v. low interest apparently

and a £1700 one which 0% ends in February.

She has failed at getting another CC to transfer on to.

Being a former student myself and careful with money I am worried for her. She has asked for me to take on the £1700 debt which I can currently pay off or add to my 0% card.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? i.e. taking on a girlfriend/boyfriends debt?

I am in a position to pay it as I have a well paid job and wiped all but my student loan debt - even looking at ISAs now.

However I feel uncomfortable knowing that she will not be in a position to pay it back for over 18 months. I have lent her about £800 in the past and she has paid it off relatively quick but this was before the time of her credit cards and her being near the end of her degree where the debt is probably going to be the highest in her life.

She has not told her family (who are quite hard up themselves) about the cards.

At this stage I am on the fence on whether I will or not so I appreciate any stories/feedback people are willing to share.

Comments

• Loafer
    Loafer Posts: 135 Forumite
    If she transfers it to a 0% in your name, I assume she will be paying back at least the minimums til the 0% term runs out? then the option is to transfer it again into one of your names. The debt would be paid eventually if this was done.

If you're not in a position to comfortably lend her the money outright then would the above scenario be ok?

The debt would be under your name but she would be managing it. Or is the issue that dont trust her with taking a debt under your name.

I am not sure from your post what your stance on the matter is. Whether you WANT to pay off her debt or not.