PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

How do you eat healthly on £50 a week?

Comments

• Shashwoo
    Shashwoo Posts: 239 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I am only new to this whole saving money thingymajig but I am learning things every day!!!

I spent £75 on a shop 2 weeks ago to last us a month there is only me and the OH and we have OH's son over every other Sat night.

I carefully planned and bought things I knew I could make several meals out of e.g frozen chicken breasts they cost about £5-6 but you get plenty. also as i call it smack price items, a lot of them, I figured half the time you can't tell the difference or add salt/pepper/spices to it to stop it tasting bland.

The only thing I have had to go out and spend money on since going shopping is Milk, and to be honest I usually buy the UHT stuff but forgot this time.

There is ways to shop for less howver still eat healthy it's just finding help to show you the light :)

Woo x

:kisses2::smileyhea:love: 1st June 2012 @ 1pm I married the man of my dreams!!!
  • quintwins
    quintwins Posts: 5,179 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    i use value chopped tom,and i find them fine, we also use value pasta and i always keep a tube of tom puree in so if the boys need a quick tea they have pasta with a handful of frozen peas and sweetcorn and some tom puree makes a very cheap meal and they love it, oh doesn't acually like tomatoes altho he will eat chilli or spag bol but he won't eat this but it's good for the kids if we decided to get a takeaway or they need to go 2 bed and were running late
    DEC GC £463.67/£450
    EF- £110/COLOR]/£1000
  • CH27
    CH27 Posts: 5,531 Forumite