Serious BT Broadband issue - very hard to resolve via call center.

edited 29 June 2011 at 10:35AM in Broadband & Internet Access
10 replies 1.7K views
uexuex Forumite
6 Posts
edited 29 June 2011 at 10:35AM in Broadband & Internet Access
Hi all and thanks for reading my post. Firstly let me lay down some background information as i would like this post to be left, once resolved, to help inform others should they experience this very strange and 'awkward' issue with their BT or other broadband service.

My name is Aaron Conway and i am an IT professional, when i say im an expert, i DO mean expert. I am not a householder who happens to be proficient at emailing 'funnies' and turning routers on and off. I run a firm in west wales repairing home and business computers and quite often resolving broadband issues too. At last count the repair totals were over 5,500 individual issues resolved within the last 5 years.

This may sound like trumpet blowing, but i feel it is important that i establish my position as someone who genuinely has good knowledge and experience in IT beyond the scope of home PC's and a bt home hub.

My issues began in 2009 with AOL (BT come later) and the issue then was so difficult to express to staff that i actually gave up, because at the time, it did not affect my business or personal life. The issue was as follows;

From EXACTLY 3.30pm each evening until midnight my connection would become unstable dropping from a perfect, solid 8mb, to around 300kbps or lower. Just about acceptable for internet and email but not for the many multimedia services out there. This was not only limited to evenings, from 3.30pm Friday it would not return to normal until 1am Monday.