Student finance

my head is spinning and i need some advice! i think this should be a topic for martin to discuss on daybreak(?). my eldest son is going to university (hopefully!) this year. i don't know where to start re student loans. we wont be entitled to any benefits as both parents in full time jobs but have no spare cash to contribute. having read a few threads i'm confused where to start ( now or later in the summer when results are out?) are the accommodation and tuition loans separate. please advise a complete novice ( neither myself or my husband went to uni so this is all new to us. thanks!

Comments

• Helix
    Helix Posts: 2,381 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    CATH4343 wrote: »
    my head is spinning and i need some advice! i think this should be a topic for martin to discuss on daybreak(?). my eldest son is going to university (hopefully!) this year. i don't know where to start re student loans. we wont be entitled to any benefits as both parents in full time jobs but have no spare cash to contribute. having read a few threads i'm confused where to start ( now or later in the summer when results are out?) are the accommodation and tuition loans separate. please advise a complete novice ( neither myself or my husband went to uni so this is all new to us. thanks!

I don't wish to panic you but the deadline to apply to guarantee payments in time for the start of term is 31st May 2011 (next Tuesday). You can still apply after this date but the loans may not arrive in time for the start of term.

There are 4 main types of funding:

Tuition Fee Loan
    Maintenance Loan
    Maintenance Grant
    Scholarships and Bursaries from Universities or other organisations.

Everyone is entitled to the first two providing they live in the UK and haven't previously been to university. Tuition fee loan pays for tuition fees obviously and Maintenance loan is used for living costs - Accommodation etc.