NEW: Got questions about energy? Put them to Gary and Andrew from MSE's Utilities team during our energy-themed 'Ask An Expert' event. Check back here from Tuesday 9 August, 12pm

26K unsecured loan

Hi,
I'm a newbie to this site but need advice - please help!

I have 26k of unsecured loan and 37k of equity but cannot remortgage for 2 years.

The 26k is at 9.89% interest costing me £250.00 per month

Do i try to get credit cards on 0% and spread the amount - if so, where do I calculate what the repayments would be (I can't afford more than £250.00)

Is there a better solution?
Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Replies

• TixyTixy Forumite
    31.5K Posts
    Unlikely to be much option for you to do anything.

You cannot transfer from a card to a loan. There are only a few cards that allow you to balance transfer to your current account (which you could then use to pay off the loan) known as super balance transfer cards. Essentially these are MBNA cards, post office cards and an M&S card. Even if you applied for and were accepted for all 3 cards I would think you will be pretty unlikely to get credit limits high enough to obtain £26k worth of debt. Even if you did the balance transfer fees and the fact that you would then have to move the debt around again when the 0%s finished would likely make the cost not much cheaper than the APR you are paying now.

You haven't given any other financial information (in terms of your employment/salary etc) but already having at least £26k worth of unsecured debts is likely to make it hard to get much new credit at all.

Whats the problem with keeping the debt with the existing loan/loan company? If you can afford the £250 then presumably you can keep up your repayments.

Personally I would move the debt from unsecured to secured even in 2years time when you can remortgage - if you lose your income/have a change in financial circumstances then you are at a much greater risk of losing your house.