We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

MSE News: Site to protect against rogue traders launches

Options
This is the discussion thread for the following MSE News Story:

"Under the scheme from Bondpay, consumers pay money which is kept in trust until work is complete ..."

Comments

• Tigsteroonie
    Tigsteroonie Posts: 24,954 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    I think this is a good idea, and one that I've been muttering under my breath about for many years (basically an "escrow" account).

However, presumably you have to select a builder that is happy to use the Bondpay system. I wonder how many will?
    :heartpuls Mrs Marleyboy :heartpuls

MSE: many of the benefits of a helpful family, without disadvantages like having to compete for the tv remote

:) Proud Parents to an Aut-some son :)
  • mo786uk
    mo786uk Posts: 1,379 Forumite
    Options
    I don't see to many people using it for the smaller jobs.

Consumers want things quick with less hassle and tradesmen are amongst the least likely to want to faff around with this sort of thing.

It could come in handy for huge jobs but again I imagine the take up would be low in the grand scheme of things.
  • Save4ArainyDay
    Options
    FSA Registered eh? That is no use - Crown Currency Exchange were FSA Registered and promoted on MSE - we lost £17m. We may one day "get a few pence in the £"

Sorry I have no faith in this
    The best way to escape a problem is to solve it :j
  • windy12
    windy12 Posts: 2 Newbie
    edited 3 December 2013 at 3:58PM
    Options
    I understand this idea began with (text removed by MSE Forum Team), a guy who knows all about Rogue Traders, he is the biggest one.