No more "Martin logos" for Red Nose Day, St. David's Day and more due to Google? blog

Comments

• meher
    meher Posts: 15,910 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    May be they are treating it like a template for instance; but I didn't know that they were such ego centrists.
  • ZTD
    ZTD Posts: 24,327 Forumite
    Decorian wrote: »
    I like the seasonal Martin's logos, they should stick around.

Surely you can use the "Prior Art" argument. You've been doing it for years before the patent was filed, and therefore either the patent is not valid, or you have an exemption from it.
    I am not a lawyer (I'm a physicist) so obviously don't take my word for it, but i thought something that was already common practice is not allowed to be patented.

It is (IIRC) under European patent law that the first person to have the idea (documented) ends up with the patent. Under US law, it's the first person to file the patent that ends up with the patent.

It's a US patent, so it has no validity in the EU.

I would have thought prior art would have stopped it from being granted, but the US patent office has a spectacularly poor record in that department.

Just about every website I've ever seen puts snow on their logo at Christmas.
    "Follow the money!" - Deepthroat (AKA William Mark Felt Sr - Associate Director of the FBI)
    "We were born and raised in a summer haze." Adele 'Someone like you.'
    "Blowing your mind, 'cause you know what you'll find, when you're looking for things in the sky."
    OMD 'Julia's Song'
  • ElkyElky
    ElkyElky Posts: 2,459 Forumite
    I'd tell Google they can shove their patent where the moon shines bright.