Laptop for student

My daughter has just gone to uni & appears to be the only one without a laptop (shame on us!)
Can anyone advise where to get a cheapy but ok one for under £200?

Many thanks:cool2:

Comments

• You're gonnna struggle to find one new for under 300 pounds. You might want to look in the loot free ads paper for 2nd hand kit.
  • s0198362
    s0198362 Posts: 57 Forumite
    My daughter has just gone to uni & appears to be the only one without a laptop (shame on us!)
    Can anyone advise where to get a cheapy but ok one for under £200?

Many thanks:cool2:

Why does she need one? it will only be at risk of theft, and bump up her insurance. There seems to be a common misconception that students can't get through university without a computer. I had one, but used it about once for university work. And before anyone asks, I did a proper degree in chemistry.
  • r.mac_2
    r.mac_2 Posts: 4,746 Forumite
    Hi there,

I am currently on my second degree and while I have a computer at home that happens to be a laptop, I don't take it to uni with me. It is too heavy as I have books to carry and there is risk of theft (even on a law course!!!), coffee spills and bashing about in public transport.

At my uni there is a facility for students to borrow laptops. It is free. You pay a small deposit (i think its currently about £20) and you have it for three days. However the sevice is underused and as long as you keep the IT dept up to date with your movements they are happy for people to use them continuously. Perhaps you could look into this option?

HTH
    aless02 wrote: »
    r.mac, you are so wise and wonderful, that post was lovely and so insightful!
    I can't promise that all my replies will illicit this response :p
  • Maybe the OP's daughter doesn't enjoy hanging around the uni campus and would like to work from the comfort of her own student home.