We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Urgent help needed gas disconnection threatened

Options
Hi

Just looking for some advice. I have received a notice of warrant for an unpaid gas bill going back to march of this year. the reason i wasnt paying the bill is because southern electric who i have been paying for over 3 years supply me with both gas and electric. Everything was fine until in jan of this year i received a letter from edf advising that i owed them over £2000 for unpaid electricity and they then preceeded to start billing me for monthly electricity. After a lot of calls to both edf and southern electric it has been decided that edf are my actual suppliers and i have legal proof from an independent body confirming this. This means that southern elctric actually owe me 3 years worth of payments now because of this i have refused to pay the gas until they pay me what has been taken. However they have done nothing to sort this out and last week issued me with a warrant to disconnect my gas. i rang them today to explain the situation and even offered to pay 50% of what is supposedly outstanding £400. i was told that i owe £800 and without payment in full today (which i cannot afford) they now have a warrant and will be executing tomorow and turning up at my flat to disconnect the gas.

Has anybody got any advice as to what i should do? Should i take the day off work and try to speak with the warrant officers. southern electric are clearly no help. Legallly are they allowed to do this if i am currently in dispute with them over the elctricity supply?

thanks

Comments

• Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,042 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    Options