What about being employed and self-employed?

Options
Morning everyone. I was after a bit of advice before trying to claim back from my loan, it's all a little bit confusing if I'm honest... I somehow managed to find my original paper work for the loan, back in 2001, I honestly cannot believe I've being paying it for THAT long, I've extended it a few times admittidly but back in 2001 it was only an 24 month term. Anyway that isn't what I need advice on, when I took the loan out I was classed as employed as I work part time as a fire fighter and self-employed as (back then) I also worked on a building site. I only took the loan out when I was self-employed as I was making a good/regular income, I know I told them I was self-employed and from what I've read that's a big no-no regarding PPI, but then I was also classed as employed. Now the employed work with the fire brigade really doesn't pay enough to live off and after loosing my self-employed work I tried to claim seeing as I paid for the protection but was told because I was working for the fire brigade I was actually still classed as employed so had to pay up. The money from the fire brigade would just pay for the car and petrol every month (which was actually the loan) but other DD took that pay before the loan DD so had zero money for them or to live on. But because I was still 'employed' Barclays chassed me up for not paying my loan with letters and charged me extra even though they know I don't have any money. I was only told I could claim on the phone when I tried to claim if I was recieving job seakers but I wasn't going to leave the brigade just to sign on. So just left the payments, I had no money so there was absoultly sod all I could do. In the end I had Barclays tell me they were going to shut my account if the arrears didn't get paid, then some finanical person from Barclays rang and re-structured my loan, longer term, less every month, but by this time I was back in work so just took the longer term,