NatWest credit card PPI reclaim questions

Options
Hi there,

New to this forum so be gentle. I have read the 'reclaiming PPI' bit on the main website but have some questions.

I took out my one and only credit card, a NatWest MasterCard, many years ago (I'd say 10 or 11 years). Since then, I have been paying the protection insurance. I do not remember ever being explicitly asked whether I wanted to sign up, and it was certainly never explained to me what it was for, how it worked or how/when I could claim.

In October 2008 I lost the job I had been doing for nine years. In that time, I had racked up some debts on the card, which I no longer used, but was struggling to pay more than the minimum payment plus the PPI. Worried that I would get into trouble with NatWest should I not keep making payments to my account, I continued to pay the minimum amount plus the PPI - even though I was struggling financially. I have continued doing this to date, though now I'm at my spending limit and finding it hard to get it down (I want to pay it all off, but I'm not in a position financially to do so).

In December 2008 I decided to become self-employed. I still am, and although it's tough at the moment making ends meet I've been able to do that… just.