Do babies steam sterilers use lots of electric?

Options
Hi I am new to the money saving site but as I am maternity leave and on no pay at the moment , every little helps.
I have been trying to save electric, but just wondering if anyone knows how much electric a babies stem steriliser unit uses, as i run it at least twice a day.
Grocery Challenge Feb 14 £500 / Spent £572.10!
March 14 £500 / spent £488.45 :j

Comments

• beeniemac
    Options
    Anything that heats up will generally use a lot of electricity, so yes, I sould imagine it does use quite a lot.

LBM
    September 2006

Yorkshire loan: £4164 >>> £0
    Amazon CC: £320 >>> £1700 (oops)
    HSBC OD: £1300 >>> £200

Total £5784 >>> £1900 21/05/2006

• Sting_2
    Sting_2 Posts: 149 Forumite
    Options
    Could you put twice as many bottles in, then you would only use it once a day.

Having said that I am not sure how long they remain sterile for once you turn the steriliser off.
  • masonic
    masonic Posts: 23,533 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I would guestimate somewhere between 5-10p per hour.
  • angeluk69_2
    Options
    why not cold sterilise much cheaper????
    Proud to be me, proud to be who I am!!
  • black-saturn
    black-saturn Posts: 13,937 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    It works out the same to cold sterilise because you have to keep buying the fluid.

The steam steriliser uses the same amount of electricity as a kettle does as it's basically the same object.

How old is the baby? After 6 months you don't have to sterilise them anymore.
    2008 Comping Challenge
    Won so far - £3010 Needed - £230
    Debt free since Oct 2004
  • masonic
    masonic Posts: 23,533 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    The steam steriliser uses the same amount of electricity as a kettle does as it's basically the same object.