🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Quote for the fitting of a new boiler

Options
Newbie here, so be kind.

I own a flat in Oxford, which is rented out as I currently live in Australia.

Unfortunately, it appears that the boiler (no idea the make) has died a death and requires replacing. My letting agent's contractors (a wholly owned subsidiary company) have quoted for the job. They detail it as following:
"To supply and fit a Vaillant ecotec 415 condensing boiler situated within the same location as the existing boiler. (In the kitchen within a wall cupboard and including a magna clean unit)
£2,640.00 (£3102.00 incl VAT)

* Additional/ upgrading of TRV’s is also not included."

Within two minutes of searching I found the stated boiler for sale online for £550 + VAT, so I queried with them why the remainder of the job would cost five times the value of the boiler (although I understand that the extra parts required will probably cost a few hundred). They then 'reduced their fees', bringing the cost to £2,649.63 incl VAT.

So, my question is this: is the above a fair quote for replacing a boiler? The old boiler was more than ten years old, so a connection to the kitchen waste will also need to be installed. Even so, I wouldn't have expected the cost to be shooting past two grand.

And they didn't quote for the power-surge clean thing (such a plumbing noob)! How much should that cost?

Cheers,
Simon