PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

Renting problems.....as well as some advice on council houses needed

Options
I've been renting a 4 bed house for 5 years and all was well until recently when our landlord put the rent up. The problem is, we can't afford to pay the extra money as things are tight.

We've been on the council house list for 3 years and have 89 points (Does that mean anything to anyone?) are we close to getting a house? Any tips on how to speed it up??

Anyway, I've been looking at other houses (3 beds) but was shocked at how much the estate agent fees are...before we even move in I'd have to pay over £1000....and repay certain fees every 6 months, not only this- there is a good chance after 6 months we will be moved on which isn't practical (moving vans etc!!).

So what can I do?? Its a complete nightmare at the moment! I can't afford to live here/rent with a new landlord/or buy a house.

Any tips?

Comments

• ailuro2
    ailuro2 Posts: 7,535 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    In a 4 bed house I assume you have kids- if money is so tight, can you get any help with the payment of your rent?