'How much do you take out at the cash machine?' poll discussion



  • Fluffi
    Fluffi Forumite Posts: 324 Forumite
    £20 probably twice or three times a week to cover lunches, the odd coffee on the way to work, pub drinks and taxis. I don't like carrying lots of cash so prefer to withdraw it as I'm likely to need it - normally will only make 2 withdrawals unless I go to the pub or out with my friends more than once that week!

    I tend to go out for lunch at least once a week and I prefer to pay cash because it takes ages to pay when more than one person wants to pay by card. I also have to pay cash in the employee restaurant because it doesn't take cards. I prefer to pay for drinks in the pub cash and if I'm traveling home after midnight then there are no buses so I get a taxi for the 2 mile ride from the station home.
  • Gordon_the_Moron
    Gordon_the_Moron Forumite Posts: 1,472
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    I too don't like carrying a lot of cash so I withdraw as and when I need it. Since there is three free ATMs outside where I work so its no hassle, but its only to cover pub spending, eating in the canteen at work and odds and ends where I can't use a card. I live with my parents still and do the entire family's shopping and my parents pay me for it, I put that on my card and they give me cash so since I started doing that I virtually never use a cash machine as I've usually got cash in the house.
    If you don't like what I say slap me around with a large trout and PM me to tell me why.

    If you do like it please hit the thanks button.
  • Coveredinbees!!!!
    Coveredinbees!!!! Forumite Posts: 3,925
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    I normally get cash back in the supermarket, most stuff goes on card these days.
    Nothing to see here, move along.
  • sellingmysoul666
    sellingmysoul666 Forumite Posts: 990
    500 Posts
    £60 once a month the rest is dd or credit card
    "what lies behind us & what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us" Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • Rosemary7391
    Rosemary7391 Forumite Posts: 2,879
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    I get £10 a week out for buying lunch things, I have to feed the washing machine change, and odd bits and pieces.
  • dzug1
    dzug1 Forumite Posts: 13,535
    10,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    Usually £45 a week - rarely need to top up, sometimes lasts two weeks.

    And I suppose it's not really an ATM - over the counter but using my debit card and PIN. What does that count as?
  • teddyco
    teddyco Forumite Posts: 397
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    What about a poll that asks:

    Should the UK taxpayer bail out the Euro and offer unlimited loans for future countries within the EU that suffer economic meltdown?
  • scottishlass
    scottishlass Forumite Posts: 1,971
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    £30 to last the month (so that I get a least one tenner) - the majority of my spends go on my credit card so this £30 is usually for bus fare, coffee breaks at work and the occasional shopping where item comes under £5 and the shop doesn't accept cards etc.
    2020 Mortgage-Free Wannabes #20 £1495.03/£2760 OP
  • ThinkingOfLinking
    ThinkingOfLinking Forumite Posts: 11,828
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    O. It varies. If I need a large amount, eg when I pay my rent, I go into the branch to withdraw the cash instead. I tend not to carry much cash, preferring instead to use my debit card.
  • Payless_2
    Payless_2 Forumite Posts: 3,123 Forumite
    I find that I don't really need to take anything out now. I paid my son's car insurance for him last year and he pays me back weekly on payday. As I pay for most things by debit card these days, these payments and his board mean that I am more likely to put cash into the bank every month. Once upon a time it would pay for my alcohol at the weekend.
This discussion has been closed.
Meet your Ambassadors


  • All Categories
  • 340.1K Banking & Borrowing
  • 249.1K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 448.3K Spending & Discounts
  • 231.9K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 603.1K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 171.6K Life & Family
  • 245.1K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.8K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards