best use of 3000£ for shares isa's

Options
hi
i am new to savings and so far wasn't sure about my plans for future hence just use my mini cash isa allowance for last 5 years
now i am in a position to take a long term view and want some help in choosing place to park the allowance of 3k in shares
i also want to try my hand in shares myself with small amount if possible within isa 's
all suggestions greatfully accepted

Comments

• lipidicman
    lipidicman Posts: 2,598 Forumite
    Options
    I think it is £4k now (with the demise of the £1k life policy allowance)
  • Mr_Mumble
    Mr_Mumble Posts: 1,758 Forumite
    Options
    As lipidicman says the mini-shares ISA limit is £4,000. If you're unaware of share ISA benefits (they aren't as good as for cash-ISAs) then check out:
    http://www.fool.co.uk/school/2006/sch060224.htm

Not sure what you mean by "park the allowance." If you mean which ISA provider to choose then this will depend on what type of investment vehicle you decide. For those DIY types picking their own stock Selftrade (£25pa for the ISA + 12.50 per trade) is a popular choice whereas for those buying Unit Trusts or OEICs Hargreaves Landsdown are often mentioned.

Its difficult to justify the costs to buy a "small amount" (depending on what you mean by that of course!) of any share economically. Many consider £1000 or £2000 the minimum to invest in a share given the costs for purchasing, the bid-ask spread, 0.5% stamp duty and then selling. For a four figure sum, held long-term, these costs are nearly insignificant but for those only buying a small amount of shares that could be sold relatively quickly it could be a large chunk of the entire investment.

You may want to look into the High Yield Portfolio idea for a risk adverse and simplified way of picking shares. Do plenty of your own research before making any decisions!