Forum Home» Boost Your Income

Vote Counting at Elections?

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

Vote Counting at Elections?

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Boost Your Income
26 replies 33.3K views
josiejosie Forumite
3.1K posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Boost Your Income
Someone told me that you can get paid for counting votes at the election - does anyone know how to apply or if it's true?

Replies

• busiscoming2busiscoming2 Forumite
    4.5K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    Yes you can although I have never done it. I emailed the electoral services dept at my local council and they have sent me the application forms for this coming election. HTH's.
  • I was asked to work at the counts a few times when I worked in a bank. It wasn't much money, about £20, but that was a few years ago now.
    From Starrystarrynight to Starrystarrynight1 and now I'm back...don't have a clue how!
  • meandmaboymeandmaboy Forumite
    470 posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    ✭✭
    josie wrote: »
    Someone told me that you can get paid for counting votes at the election - does anyone know how to apply or if it's true?

I've done this a few times I went onto the Council Website & filled out the application forms for all the different jobs available.
    I got selected to count the 'votes' twice & @ the last 'General Election' I was lucky enough to get a job in the Polling Stations.
    Our Council keep your name on file & send out the paperwork to ask if you are still interested when the 'elections' are due.
    The pay is okay for any of the jobs.

hth
  • You can earn quite good money if you are bent. Particularly if you live in a marginal constituancy.