How to light a wood burning stove.

Options
I've come accross a few people with issues lighting and running a wood burning stove so though i'd create a video to show how it can be done.

Hope it helps.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y7ewoH7FWT0

Comments

• pinkmami
    pinkmami Posts: 1,110 Forumite
    Options
    Can I just say thanks for this?!

DH & I had (certainly no experts!!) a go at lighting it to get rid of the fumes etc...& the fire was pants. So I came home & watched this footage & then had another go - WOW! Result!
  • crphillips
    crphillips Posts: 349 Forumite
    Options
    Glad you found it useful. I waffle a bit in the vid but it;s my first time in front of a camera.....going to do a shortened version with less waffle but all the stuff said in the video is important to make lighting a fire easy.
  • Swipe
    Swipe Posts: 5,086 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Good vid, I'm a stove veteran myself but it's not always easy for new stove owners to understand the best way to light theirs, your video demonstrates this well.
  • foolsgold99
    foolsgold99 Posts: 408 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Excellent video. Very useful, especially explaining the use of the different vent controls.

Another wee tip that I use. I don't bother much with chopped kindling. If you have a 'Home Bargains' shop near you, they sell the firelogs for £1. I buy these up and saw them into 4 (25p each) like a Swiss Roll. I use a cardboard wine holder from any supermarket to easily store them. These light easily and burn for ages allowing me to light it and them add bigger logs striaght away. I can then walk away and pretty much leave it to catch.

These logs are ofetn more expensive elsewhere and so this tip is only really worthwhile if you have a a Home Bargains near you.
  • patjenkins
    patjenkins Posts: 35 Forumite
    Options