🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

My S&S ISA Strategy - am I being to simplistic?

Options
I've got around £3K that i'd rather do something more creative with than simply having it sat earning practically nothing in a savings account.

Basically, there are 3 big name companies that I have lots of experience of as a customer, that I feel are well run, have a straight forward product offering (and therefore a business model that I understand) and are in a reasonable position to weather the recession.

I'd like to invest in these companies; and initially thought of simply opening a nominee trading account somewhere, but then it occurred to me that I've not used this year's S&S ISA allowance. I am fully subscribed to this year's cash ISA allowance.

Taking a long term view - would it make sense to go down the S&S ISA route? I'm impressed with H-L and they're looking for a minimum 3K investment under normal circumstances (which is fair enough), and I have that amount to invest (I may as well use the full £3.6K), so would that be the way to go?

So if holding a S&S ISA of £3K in just 3 stocks isn't totally stupid (based on my criteria mentioned above - i'm not just investing in these companies blindly) should I just split the funds evenly; or is there some metric that I should be looking (share price, market cap. etc.) and use that to influence the distribution somehow?

Thanks!

Comments

• EdGasket
    EdGasket Posts: 3,503 Forumite
    Options