We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Sky box playing up - only at night?

Options
Any
Any Posts: 7,944 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Hi everyone,

I am not very technical so I am hoping someone can help.

We have 2 Sky boxes at home. Mine in my bedroom is simple Sky box on Multiroom. This one started playing up recently. BUT only at the evening! During the day is fine, which is really weird.

In the past 2 weeks it keeps picking channels I can watch. Very often it says "no satellite signal" but if I keep changing channels and then jump back to the one I want to watch it will work. Sometimes I have to keep trying for few minutes to get it there though.

Last night it was the second time this week when it didn't work at all. "No satellite signal is being received" and it gave me no channel at all. I called Sky and they said the problem is my box. But why does it keep doing this only at the evening??

Our other Sky box downstairs is fine.

Comments

• spike7451
    spike7451 Posts: 6,944 Forumite
    Options
    Sounds like the port you are connected to on the LNB is faulty,you should have one spare on the dish so try switching to that one if you can.Especially if it's only doing it on certain channels (118/119/120/301/301/401/402 ect)
    However it could also be the smartcard or the 'tuner' in the box itself.
    Try this first:
    Turn off the power to the box,then press & hold 'Back up' on the box & turn on the power.
    Continue holding the 'Back Up' until the traffic lights on the front of the box come on & you get an on screen message.
    When this goes,wait 5 minutes & turn the box off,wait 2 minutes & turn on & allow the box to reboot.