Second year study at the open uni, advice please

Options
I'm starting a 60 point course this year with the Open University and I am a little worried.

Last year and this year I had a lot of personal and financial problems which effected my grade and now I'm worried I wont be able to cope this year.

I keep thinking I wont be motivated or find the right time to study, really I'm after some tips off people who have been in the same situation on how you organised your study time better and dealt with all the other problems going on around.

I really want to do the work and pass, I just don't want to feel a failure . :(

Comments

• Idiophreak
    Idiophreak Posts: 12,024 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Think the trick with this, as with anything, is to put it in a box. Work out each week, month, or year, how much time you need to do the course. I did my masters' dissertation whilst working and had a lot of trouble finding the time.

So, on a Sunday night, think "need to do 5 hours this week". Then, sit with your diary and work out when you're going to do them - "I'll do an hour every day after work". Then just block that time out "wanna come for a drink?" "sorry, I'm busy - can I meet you in an hour?" "someone's on the phone to talk about..." "tell them I'll call back".

Best bet, really, is to get out of the house if you can...go to the library, turn your phone off and just view it as something you have to do. Easier said than done, I know.
  • movingforward2010
    movingforward2010 Posts: 1,576 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 30 September 2009 at 6:05PM
    Options
    Idiophreak wrote: »
    Think the trick with this, as with anything, is to put it in a box. Work out each week, month, or year, how much time you need to do the course. I did my masters' dissertation whilst working and had a lot of trouble finding the time.