Noticed some changes? You can read all about the improvements we've made on the Forum in our latest announcement. We also have a new set of Forum rules so please take the time to give them a read and familiarise yourself.

Sky Box channel issues

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in TV MoneySaving
13 replies 1K views
NivNiv Forumite
2.2K Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in TV MoneySaving
Hi ,

I have a sky box in my bedroom with no card inserted etc and have been watching freeview channels for some time without issue, recently the box now says I am not recieving a signal. Luckily I have another (older) box which I hooked up to discount the box, it works but only goes upto S4C (134 I think) where previously I have had many more channels.

I have swiched the boxes on and off, disconnected / re connected etc no change.

I have a subscription for the living room and it is working as normal so no signal issues there with thellignment etc

The boxes I have for the freeviewing are pace boxes (the coppery one)

Any ideas?

Cheers

Gav
YNWA

Target: Mortgage free by 58.

Replies

• You could try a force update on the old box. This should hopefully restore all the free to air channels.

You can add FIVE in manually if it doesn't appear but there'll be no EPG for it.
    Your BBC and ITV regions will deafult to London and Central respectively.
    Dave. :wave:
  • NivNiv Forumite
    2.2K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    Thanks Dave, I will try that force update when I get home. Two more little questions now :

What is EPG?
    How do I manually tune in channels?

I have used 'add channels' before but it comes up with a random list of channels I have never heard of and when I tried to add one I did not see it appear on my channel line up and therefore couldnt access it.

Gav
    YNWA

Target: Mortgage free by 58.