We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Average student debt?

Options

Comments

• dmg24
    dmg24 Posts: 33,925 Forumite
    Options
    Remember that to get an average, there will be people with higher and lower amounts. When I left uni I had zero debt and savings.
    Gone ... or have I?
  • ruby_eskimo
    Options
    I'm at just under £12k with £11k being loan and tuition fees (got the minimum loan and my parents paid my £1,200 fees for the first 2 years, got the tuition fee loan for my final year) and then £800 for my overdraft. I graduated a year ago and have only been paying the minimum since April. At this rate I'm going to have to have my debt written off when I'm 65!
    Emergency Fund - £7992.62 / £10,000 :: Total Mortgage OP - £34,692
    LISA 24/25 - £0 / £4000 :: NSD 2024 - 13 / 180 :: Moving Fund: £838.83 :: Decluttering - 143 / 365
    Engaged 9th December 2010 :: Married 29th October 2015 :: Bought a House 13th January 2017
  • Fire_Fox
    Fire_Fox Posts: 26,026 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 22 September 2009 at 4:29PM
    Options
    Lokolo wrote: »
    My total living costs is a lot higher than that lol.

Mines around the £9-11k mark. :T

But that does include money going into savings and such.

Living costs for the purposes of the Student Income and Expenditure Survey accounted for accommodation separately, as does the 'Live on £4K for a year' thread on DFW. I think that's a good way to budget as it's housing that is the most variable outgoing regionally.