Slightly confused over BT's and charges

Options
Hi, I am fairly new to stoozing and have never done BT's before. I currently have a Lloyds cc which is 0% until July which I've been using for purchases and keeping the money I would have been paying back in a separate savings account.

I have also recently been accepted for both the Egg Money and Egg (green) credit card, although I only applied for the cc yesterday and was immediately accepted but won't know for a week or so what my credit limit will be. I'm hoping for around £3-4k as they offered me £2,200 on Egg Money and I'm hoping to do a BT to Lloyds, which currently stands just over £3k in debt (£4 k limit).

This is where I start to get a bit confused now as I'm not sure what to do next to avoid paying any interest/charges as it seems Egg are now charging 2.5% uncapped, so if I am able to BT £3k to Lloyds that will cost me £75.

Would I be better off pulling out my savings to clear Lloyds in July, which is currently earning me 5.25% or should I BT what I can from Egg cc to Egg Money and let it earn me 4% for a couple of months, then use some/all of this, depending what limit they give me, to pay off Lloyds?

Comments

• Chumana
    Chumana Posts: 59 Forumite
    Options
    Forgot to add that the Egg cc is 0% until Feb 2007 if that makes any difference on whether it's worth paying the BT fees.
  • Voyager2002
    Voyager2002 Posts: 15,290 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I don't think your post gives all the information needed to do the calculation, and anyway is rather long and confusing. I would suggest that you read the article and some other posts to get a good idea of how to make your decision. At that point, if you can't do the sums, you should consider whether stoozing is really for you.
  • Chumana
    Options