We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.
We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Potatoes which look like tomatoes...Help!

Options
I'm new at this but i've read quite a bit but i was given some chitted potatoes (which i can't recall the name of) and i planted them as per instruction, kept earthing them up as the shoots broke the soil but had to stop when the soil ridges were so high i couldn't raise it any more.

I left them alone for a couple of months and the plants are now roughly a foot and a half high but the have clusters of fruit looking type things (green) hanging on them.

Are these the potatoes and should i be flattening them and covering them over. I mean i already raised the soil as high as i possibly could but there are tons of them. They are clustered together like tomatoes would.

Totally clueless now. Can anyone offer answers?

Comments

• hermie
    hermie Posts: 19 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Options
    This was on the Beechgrove Garden prog the other night and they said that the "fruit" bits were very poisonous and should be removed esp if you have children around but this doesn't harm the actual potatoes though so enjoy them when they are ready to eat :)
    Ps Think it's because potatoes and tomatoes are in the same "family" that this happens.
  • RAS
    RAS Posts: 32,978 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    melanie22 wrote: »