load bearing wall built straight off wooden floor

Options
Hi

Just had the survey back for a house I'm buying.

This concerned me:

" [FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Whilst the property appears free from recent or progressive movement, the central load bearing partition has ‘dropped’ causing distortion to openings and flooring.[/FONT][FONT=Arial, sans-serif]
This situation appears historic, with no damage being noted to plastered or decorated surfaces.
[/FONT][FONT=Arial, sans-serif]
Not withstanding the above, it is somewhat unusual for an internal wall to subside when external walls appear unaffected and as in many properties of this age, the load bearing wall may be built off the wooden floor structure, it would be prudent if practicable prior to purchase to expose the floor to confirm the supporting structure is suitable for the purpose."
[/FONT]

Is this a common problem, and if we need to have it looked at should we go for a structural engineer.

I'm new to all this and haven't got a clue! Any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Cknocker
    Cknocker Posts: 235 Forumite
    Options
    I have never heard of a masonry wall being built off of a wooden floor, if thats the case ues you need a structural engineer to look at it. If it has dropped already the remedy will probably be tto take up the floor and underpin the wall!
  • eranu_2
    eranu_2 Posts: 22 Forumite
    Options
    i wonder how long its been like that? Its not something ive heard of. If there was any significant load directly on the floor, surely it would just go right through it?
  • dander
    dander Posts: 1,781 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    noo66 wrote: »
    [FONT=Arial, sans-serif]as in many properties of this age, the load bearing wall may be built off the wooden floor structure[/FONT]

Sorry, I know nothing about this kind of thing at all, I'm just intrigued - what age is the property?
  • Cknocker
    Options