Cycle to work scheme

Options

Comments

• dunclane
    dunclane Posts: 145 Forumite
    Options
    yathers wrote: »
    Yeah, i did buy an accessory, a pump for £25 taking the total to 949.99. Like I say if you add my £53.13 x 18months up the repayment is more??? Only £6/7 but still more???

Its payed over 18 months, but not to make sure im on min wage, im a secondary school teacher on £30,000+ so I dont really understand it???

Anyone with ideas???????
    Oh, its the onyourbike scheme im on with, cheers.

The £53.13 payment is before tax & NI.

For you to save enough to pay for your £949.99 bike & accessories you would actually have to earn (rough figures!!) £ 1325.00 if you are a 22% tax payer.
  • simbamk1
    simbamk1 Posts: 28 Forumite
    Options
    what happens if you go bankrupt whilst on the scheme me and my partner are currently on it ???
  • custardy
    custardy Posts: 38,365 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 29 April 2010 at 8:32PM
    Options
    simbamk1 wrote: »
    what happens if you go bankrupt whilst on the scheme me and my partner are currently on it ???

i doubt it would be affected since its a salary sacrifice
    better asking on the BR board though
  • sickparrot
    sickparrot Posts: 816 Forumite
    Options
    My employer is introducing this scheme at the beginning of July. I already cycle to work anyway but it would be nice to have a better bike.

Whether I go for it or not depends on how the actual figures pan out, we haven't had any details yet (the cyclescheme calculator suggests a saving of about £200 on a £500 bike).

Here's hoping it will be worth it.

I've had a look at the Boardman hybrid but didn't really like the look of it. I don't like black gloss, also the handlebars looked too spindly and it's got slick tyres, so I would have to spend another £40 to replace those with treads.