"Ed Balls' reply to my Childcare agitation. Suggestions needed." blog discussion

Options

Comments

• peter__7-2
    Options
    Is it beyond the wit of the assorted government departments to just CHANGE OUR TAX CODES so if you have a child eligible for assistance (of what ever nature) then your TAX CODE is changed so you don't reclaim money back from the government that they took off you in the 1st place.

That way NO ONE would need to claim
    NO ONE (especially the low paid target group) would miss out on this 'benefit'
    and
    it would be cheaper to run (which is good for all of us as it will save TAX money for every TAX PAYER)

Just why do these people make it so difficult; complicated and obscure; do they have a desire to maximise paper work; and mimimize the benefits ?
  • smartbear
    Options
    Related irrationality re childcare & tax credits that I'd really like raised: I work as an Ofsted Registered Childminder. The number of children I care for at any one time is - rightly - strictly limited by the terms of my Registration. Parents of these children can claim Childcare Credit - but unless I place my own child/ren in a nursery or with another Minder I can't claim, despite the fact that my own child takes up one of my childcare places. For example if I'm registered to care for 3 under 5's and my own child is 4, then one of those places is taken by my own child reducing my potential earnings by a third. They receive the same high standard of education and care as the other children & I don't want to place them elsewhere - so why shouldn't I be able to claim Childcare credit like any other parent for that place??
  • adon30
    adon30 Posts: 181 Forumite
    edited 7 August 2009 at 7:04AM
    Options