"Ed Balls' reply to my Childcare agitation. Suggestions needed." blog discussion

Options

Comments

• micky_101
    Options
    As a full time student who's partner works full time, I need childcare but am not entitled to any help with the costs. The help avaialable to students needs seriously looking at. I am entitled to a full maintenance grant to help with basic living costs whilst I'm a student, so clearly student finance recognises that the family has a low income, however tax credits take no account of one parent being a student - both have to be working a minimum of 16 hours top qualify for help with childcare. Sadly if the cost of childcare becomes too difficult to manage I may have to give up my course and then be stuck at home as an unemployed person .
  • Monkeylady_2
    Options
    Thankyou for taking this up Martin! I started claiming tax credits last year when my baby was born and it was a complete nightmare! I only found out 6 months later that I was entitled to more as it was worked out on last year's income, which was considerably higher than the maternity pay I was then receiving. As for childcare I've still been unable to work out if we would be better off with vouchers or tax credits. For the time being I'm sticking with the vouchers as it's just easier than faffing any more!!

I don't understand why it has to be so complicated. Obviously everyone's situation is different but thresholds of income vs. tax credit eligibilty would be really helpful!!!
  • samandmillie
    Options
    Interesting article. Is there an easy way to find out whether I would be better off if I opted out of the current childcare voucher scheme that I take part in?
    Thanks
  • PPO
    PPO Posts: 3 Newbie
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    It's insanity we simply need to make it automatic, not paperwork, which costs more to administer than they pay out. If you turn up with your child that's evidence that you need childcare surely.