PPI reclaims and Government Employees

Options
akaMr_G
akaMr_G Posts: 5 Forumite
edited 24 July 2009 at 7:17PM in Reclaim PPI & other insurance
Hi all,

I've been a teacher for the past 5 years, and have stumbled upon a few (dodgy commerical) loan reclaim websites that state that if you work for a government organisation then you are totally exempt from paying PPIs on mortgages and loans.

I took out an £8k loan from NatWest last May to buy a new motor. I was a bit rushed, as my previous car had just spectacularly failed its MOT, and I needed to sort out finance (and a car) quickly so I could see teach my little monkies at school the next week. I was a bit shocked last month when my annual statement came through to see that after a year, and having paid back some £2820, I still owed over £11k thanks to the PPI that I had sort of agreed to. I wasn't aware that I would be charged up front for the policy, and that it would be added to the total sum of my loan.

During my loan application, I did explain that I was a teacher, and that I was well covered in terms of sickness pay etc. however I was advised that it was be best to take out the PPI to cover all eventualities.

I have searched high and low for the official regulations about government workers so that I can launch a watertight claim, however I can't seem to find it anywhere. I would be extremely grateful if somebody could point me in the right direction.:huh:

Thankyou in advance!

akaMr_G

Comments

• melorablack
    melorablack Posts: 1,114 Forumite
    Options
    There isn't any. Doesn't matter where you work you can still benefit from PPI as long as you are employed (And meet the conditions of course).
  • di3004
    di3004 Posts: 42,579 Forumite
    Options
    akaMr_G wrote: »
    Hi all,