Missing Faster Payment from HSBC to Lloyds

Options
I'm new to all this so please forgive me if I haven't explained the problem very well!

Can anyone help with advise about what to do about a missing payment using the faster payment service?

I have been using this service between my HSBC and Lloyds TSB account for at least the last 3 months with no problem – money is always credited within minutes.

On Sunday 31 May 09 I made a transfer of £1200.00 using faster payment from my HSBC account to my Lloyds TSB account. I have the confirmation/authorisation that the payment was sent on 31 May 2009 at 15:33:37

I checked Lloyds TSB at approx 20:00 and the monies had not been received.

I made another transfer (just to see if this one worked) for £20. This payment appeared in my Lloyds TSB account within minutes.

Phoned HSBC (around 20:45) to query where payment of £1200 was. Was advised it had definitely left HSBC and could arrive over night, but if not they could put a trace on the payment in the morning.

I phoned HSBC this morning and they have put a trace on the payment and will let me know the outcome.

My real worry is that 3 of my DD from Lloyds TSB have now been returned and I will incur at least £60.00 charges. Do I have a case to recover these charges from either HSBC or Lloyds?

Comments

• Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    If you explain the situation to LLoyds they most probably will return the fees. Most probably.
  • soulsaver
    soulsaver Posts: 6,012 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    My understanding is FP is not a guaranteed service (certainly not from the Halifax) so you should allow upto 4 working days for the transfer to happen. Also May 31 is Sunday then clearly is not a business day and I am not certain what affect that has on the availability of FP?
    Like Lokolo my view is Lloyds may waive the charges this time, they wouldn't be obliged to.