declined hardship fund- advice needed

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Student Money Saving
15 replies 2.7K views
2»

Replies

• TorbyTorby Forumite
    1.7K Posts
    wow....£11k a year untaxed.....and you struggle....

halls....flat share....2nd hand books or library....

your mum...isn't relevant...live the student life....find a flat share...you could probably save £100 -£150 per month...share utility bills....as I see it your biggest problem is living where you are at the moment....you are probably in a better position than a lot of students, especially those where family income is negligible and parents cant contribute...and the student can't find work...so you're immediately £400 a month better off....definitely leave home...
    I'm now a retired teacher... hooray ...:j

Those who can do, those who can't, come to me for lessons:cool:

• Patrick20Patrick20 Forumite
    754 Posts
    I agree with Torby here you should move to a cheaper flat and share. A student shouldnt be in a £450/month flat. Contact your uni and see if you can get student accomodation. Since your mum has went to live with your sister, and given no thought to your welbeing, I suggest you forget any loyalty to her needs at the moment. Concentrate on your own survival because thats what you have to do, you have to put yourself before other people in situations like this.
  • hunkenhunken Forumite
    16 Posts
    There are a few things you need to do ASAP:

Move to shared accommodation.

Check with the gas company if they allow you to pay by installments.

Review your travel expense. How come you are paying £4/day to travel? Could you find someone to liftshare. Is your uni within cycling distance? A decent bike costs about £50.

Don't buy books, borrow them. But if you must, buy it from people the year above. Through out my course I only bought 2 books and it cost me £15 for both from the student intranet selling/buying/wanted section (instead of £30-40 each in the uni bookshop).