🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Getting fleeced with monthly charges from barclays . . . want to change!!

Options
Hi everyone ;)

I want a new current account and was wondering if anyone could help as im useless at deciphering the information on bank websites and

CURRENTLY

I bank with barclays i opened the account 10 years ago when i was a student on the high street. I hadnt really thought about it too much but i looked closely at my statements recently i am being charged SIXTEEN pounds a month for the privilege of having that account which is £192 a year!!! I use none of their "benefits" and i really detest the thought that they are taking my money like this.

MY CIRCUMSTANCES

1) i am always in credit
2) i am in full time regular employment
3) i already have a savings account

WHAT I WOULD LIKE IN A CURRENT ACCOUNT

1) Has to have Internet access

2) Good reputation for security
3) DOESNT CHARGE STUPID AMOUNTS FOR THE ACCOUNT :T

4) Im not bothered too much about decent interest rates but would be nice i suppose :o

If anyone can direct me to a current account that fits the above criteria id be really grateful

Thanks very much

Dizzy

Comments

• Extant
    Extant Posts: 2,140 Forumite
    Options
    Uh, ask Barclays to remove the Additions Plus feature from your account? Then it will be free.

Otherwise, your requirements could be pretty much anyone. Every high street bank has internet access, and they're all nicely secure.
    What would William Shatner do?
  • Calchas
    Calchas Posts: 405 Forumite
    Options
    Hi everyone ;)