Where`s best to put my savings?????????

Options
Im pretty new to this but have had alot of help from other Moneysavers.
My Father and mother have sold there house and have £200000. They have moved in with my sister and are hoping to move house in around 6 months to see if the house prices drop a little. Where is the best place for them to put there money, so it is protected.? He currently has £120000 in Lloyds and some in Premium bonds. Hes worked hard all his life and is now 6o. I`d hate to see them lose money if the banks go bump. All help would be much appreciated.
Loving this site.:beer:

Comments

• Doomcow
    Doomcow Posts: 1,729 Forumite
    Options
    split it betweens isa's and make sure the cash is split between various instituions.

specifically is he wants to keep it safe.

£50k max in each institution, and keep it out of stocks n shares etc etc. if you access to the cash easy.
    Mr & Mrs Doomcow Wedding Fund: £10200/£18000 (by 04/2012) (spent £2000)
    meiow meiow purr meep merp purr urble purrup :)

requires further financing
  • caveman38
    caveman38 Posts: 1,297 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    We are all ears. I like many (not wishing to hijack your post) have got similar amounts invested in said banks. In light of todays news / share price and possible nationalisations have got concerns.
    Can it get to the position where the £50K guarantees can be reneged on?
  • leefire
    leefire Posts: 87 Forumite
    Options
    I dont mind you hijacking, and thanks for the comments. ARE Isa as safe as a bank or building society.?
  • Mike1989
    Mike1989 Posts: 222 Forumite
    Options
    Well I'll take it you have £320,000. As it doesn't really matter on amount in theory.

- Northern Rock offer 3.75% on a 1 year fixed rate bond. You could put £50,000 in there.
    - Barclays offer 3.20% on their 1 year fixed rate bond. Put £50,000 in that account.