Student Mortgages

Options
Anyone know of any 100% mortgages that are appropriate/available for students. Or any mortgages at all that students could apply for/be eligible for.

Thanks

SH

Comments

• RichyRich
    RichyRich Posts: 2,090 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    According to something I read on Ciao (http://www.ciao.com) awhile ago Halifax do these, but you need a guarantoor.
    #145 Save £12k in 2016 Challenge: £12,062.62/£12,000.00 Beginning Balance: £5,027.78 CHALLENGE MET
    #060 Save £12k in 2017 Challenge: £11,03.70/£12,000.00 Beginning Balance: £12,976.79 Shortfall: £996.30:eek:
    This is the secret message.
  • ben_edwards2612
    Options
    Try HSBC, they were very helpful. I am a postgraduate student so have a reasonable income but it is tax free :j This was a big no no for all other lenders we tried. I think the rates are 5.5% so not the cheapest but there are no early repayment charges etc so we will change to a discounted mortgage as soon as we have taxable income and overall it's still better than renting!
  • jennifernil
    jennifernil Posts: 5,580 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    my daughter is a student and has a mortgage from the halifax, but her dad is the guarantor so it is done on his income minus our mortgage. don't know if they would do 100% though.
  • louloubelle79
    Options
    Hiya i think Scottish widows do 100% mortgage, im a student and this is what i have recently found out...
  • li21rv
    li21rv Posts: 9 Forumite
    Options
    Hiya!
    I have a 100% graduate mortgage from HSBC and agree they are helpful...and so do Natwest I think (for first time buyers). Think HSBC have got a fixed rate at 5.19% so not brilliant...but at least it's a step on the property ladder!
    Good luck..
    Rhi xx
  • Alechjo
    Options
    Hello All,

Are you all British/EU students? Do you know if overseas students can have mortgages? Maybe with a guarantor?